CHAMÄLEON + ONJALA OBSERVATORY DeepSky SITEMAP
HOME CHAMÄLEON
 
« back to overview Star Clusters Load higher resolution (1800 x 1200 Pixel – 3000 x 2000 Pixel) Object description
Messier 45, the Pleiades in the Constellation Taurus
 

 
Description of object:

The Pleiades - also called the Atlantiads, the Atlantiads and the Seven Sisters - is an open star cluster, already visible with the naked eye in the constellation of Taurus. In the Messier catalogue it is called M 45, named after the Pleiades from Greek mythology.

The 7 brightest stars are named after figures from Greek mythology, the Titan Atlas (hence Atlantides), his wife Pleione and their seven daughters Alkyone, Asterope, Celaeno, Elektra, Maia, Merope and Taygete. The Pleiades, who can be classified as nymphs, raised Dionysus and Zeus together. According to mythology they were pursued by the sky hunter Orion. Zeus moved the Pleiades to the sky as a constellation, but even there they are still pursued by Orion, whose constellation is located about 30° southeast of the Pleiades.

In the NGC catalogue the Pleiades are not listed separately, but there are several reflection nebulae with their own NGC numbers in the Pleiades area. These include the Maja Nebula (NGC 1432) and the Merope Nebula (NGC 1435). Only about half a minute of arc from Merope is a concentration of interstellar dust known as IC 349 or Barnard's Merope Nebula.
 
The Pleiades appear with an extension of about 2° about four times as large as the moon seen with the naked eye. The star cluster is about 445 light years away from the solar system and contains at least 1200 stars which are on average about 125 million years old. Thus it is one of the youngest open star clusters in our Milky Way and due to its proximity to the solar system also one of the best explored.

In many prehistoric cultures the Pleiades were considered a special asterism. For example, a group of six drawn points in the caves of Lascaux is interpreted as a representation of the Pleiades.

A very important object from Central Europe, probably used for astronomy, is the so-called Nebra Sky Disk. A group of seven closely spaced points are identified as the Pleiades. Here you will find a comprehensive article in german language (information in english language) on the astronomical interpretation of the Nebra Sky Disk. It is dated to an age between 3700 and 4100 years.


« The Nebra Sky Disc. Credit: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Nebra_Scheibe.jpg


top of page

Sun Moon Solar System DeepSky Widefield Miscellaneous Spec. Projects

CHAMÄLEON + ONJALA OBSERVATORY DeepSky SITEMAP
HOME CHAMÄLEON
 
« zurück zur Startseite Sternhaufen Großes Bild laden (1800 x 1200 Pixel)
Objektbeschreibung
Messier 45, die Plejaden im Sternbild Stier
 

 
Objektbeschreibung:

Die Plejaden - auch Atlantiden, Atlantiaden, Siebengestirn und die Sieben Schwestern genannt - ist ein offener Sternhaufen, bereits mit dem bloßen Auge sichtbar im Sternbild Stier. Im Messier-Katalog trägt er die Bezeichnung M 45. Benannt ist der Sternhaufen nach den Plejaden aus der griechischen Mythologie.

Die 7 hellsten Sterne sind nach Gestalten der griechischen Mythologie benannt, dem Titanen Atlas (daher auch Atlantiden), seiner Frau Pleione sowie ihren sieben Töchtern Alkyone, Asterope, Celaeno, Elektra, Maia, Merope und Taygete. Die Plejaden, die als Nymphen einzuordnen sind, erzogen gemeinsam Dionysos und Zeus. Der Mythologie nach wurden sie vom Himmelsjäger Orion verfolgt. Zeus versetzte die Plejaden als Sternbild an den Himmel, aber auch dort werden sie noch immer von Orion verfolgt, dessen Sternbild sich etwa 30° südöstlich der Plejaden befindet.

Im NGC-Katalog sind die Plejaden nicht separat aufgeführt, jedoch gibt es im Bereich der Plejaden mehrere Reflexionsnebel mit eigenen NGC-Nummern. Hierzu gehören der Maja-Nebel (NGC 1432) und der Merope-Nebel (NGC 1435). Nur etwa eine halbe Bogenminute von Merope entfernt befindet sich eine Konzentration von interstellarem Staub, die als IC 349 oder Barnards Merope-Nebel bekannt ist.

 
Die Plejaden erscheinen mit einer Ausdehnung von ca. 2° etwa viermal so groß wie der Mond mit dem bloßen Auge betrachtet. Der Sternhaufen liegt knapp 445 Lichtjahre vom Sonnensystem entfernt und beinhaltet mindestens 1200 Sterne die im Mittel etwa 125 Millionen Jahre alt sind. Damit ist er einer der jüngsten offenen Sternhaufen in unserer Milchstraße und aufgrund seiner Nähe zum Sonnensystem auch einer der best erforschten.

Die Plejaden galten in vielen prähistorischen Kulturen als besondere Sterngruppe. So wird z. B. eine Gruppe von sechs gezeichneten Punkte in den Höhlen von Lascaux als Darstellung der Plejaden gedeutet.

Ein bedeutendes, vermutlich der Astronomie dienendes Objekt aus Mitteleuropa ist die so genannte Himmelsscheibe von Nebra. Eine Gruppe von sieben eng beieinander liegenden Punkten werden als die Plejaden identifiziert. Hier finden Sie einen umfangreichen Artikel zur astronomischen Deutung der Himmelscheibe von Nebra. Sie wird auf ein Alter zwischen 3700 und 4100 Jahre datiert.



« Die Himmelscheibe von Nebra. Credit: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Nebra_Scheibe.jpg

Sonne Mond Sonnensystem DeepSky Weitwinkel Verschiedenes Spez. Projekte
All Images and all Content are © by Franz Hofmann + Wolfgang Paech